Cupcake Taste Test

Image

I love cupcakes. First of all, they remind me of high school. Baking cupcakes was my way to de-stress, and my circle of friends would find an excuse for someone to bring cupcakes on a regular basis. Secondly, who doesn’t love miniature cake?

I don’t bake cupcakes nearly as much as I used to, mainly because I don’t have a large group of people to share them with anymore. If I made them now, I would end up eating a whole cake mix box’s worth single-handedly. Instead, I treat myself to a Gigi’s cupcake now and then.

Everything I’ve tried at Gigi’s is delicious, and the cupcakes are large enough to share or save some for later. Although if you eat it all in one sitting, I promise I won’t judge. I’m always the first in line when I hear about new flavors, so I thought I would do a review of their January additions.

Crème Brûlée: “Rich Crème Brûlée cake with vanilla bean cream cheese frosting, filled with a creamy vanilla custard—topped with a caramelized sugar candy”

Image 1

This was in my opinion the prettiest of the three cupcakes I tried. I love crème brûlée so I had high expectations for this cake. Unfortunately, this one didn’t really wow me. It was good, don’t get me wrong. However, I’m also not much of a vanilla fan. If you are, this is probably the cupcake for you.

Chocolate Caramel Macchiato: “Dark chocolate pudding cake with a creamy mocha filling, topped with our famous Dulce de Leche cream cheese frosting—drizzled with caramel and topped with a chocolate-covered coffee bean”

Image 2

Coffee lovers rejoice! Now you can get your caffeine fix and your sugar rush in the same place. The chocolate-covered coffee bean packed quite a punch. I liked the chocolate cake a lot, but for a chocoholic like me, I prefer their Midnight Magic cupcake.

Banana Toffee Pie: “Banana cake with an English toffee filling, topped with our famous marshmallow buttercream frosting and sprinkled with crunchy chocolate toffee candy pieces”

Image 3

Probably my favorite of the three. Their banana cake is to die for. The toffee bits were fun. Definitely recommend a big glass of milk to go with this one. Very sweet!

Conclusion – Maybe I’m on a sugar crash, but I thought these new additions were merely good, not great. I still love Gigi’s. I haven’t found anywhere else that serves such moist, flavorful cupcakes. I had fun trying the new flavors, although I don’t think I’ll get them again. I guess it’s hard to live up to their phenomenal fall flavors. I could have eaten one of their German Chocolate cupcakes everyday.

What do you think? Have you tried any of Gigi’s new cupcakes? Which one was your favorite?

One thought on “Cupcake Taste Test

Leave a Reply

