Holiday Baking: Christmas Cupcakes

The holidays bring many parties and family dinners, which leads me to one of my favorite topics: FOOD! I’m not a very good cook, but I do love to bake. A few years ago, a friend introduced me to this recipe for Lindt Truffle Chocolate Cupcakes. They’re delicious! Now it’s become a tradition to make these every year.

Here’s what you need:

  • A box of Devil’s Food Cake mix
  • A small box of instant vanilla pudding
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup water
  • Lindor truffles (approx. 18-20)
  • Icing of choice

Preheat oven to 350. Mix together all ingredients except for the chocolate truffles. Pour into muffin pan with cupcake liners. Cook for 5 minutes. Then remove pan from oven. Take unwrapped chocolate and gently push one truffle into the center of each cupcake. Continue cooking for an additional 13-15 minutes, until done. Let cool, and then frost cupcakes. Enjoy!

IMG_1229

A few tips: I use milk chocolate truffles, but you could also use dark or white chocolate. I’ve used all three, and milk chocolate are my favorite. The original recipe includes directions for making cream cheese icing. Homemade tastes better; however, I usually use a jar of store bought to make things simpler. Any kind of frosting would probably work, depending on personal preference. I think next time I want to try chocolate. This year I substituted greek yogurt for sour cream as a (somewhat) healthier option and couldn’t tell the difference. I also found cooking them longer helped prevent the finished cupcakes from caving in as they cooled.

I highly recommend this recipe, especially for chocolate lovers. There’s nothing better than eating one of these cupcakes warm with a glass of milk!

What are your go to holiday recipes?

 

One thought on “Holiday Baking: Christmas Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

