Five Resolutions for 2015

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 7.22.31 PM.pngHappy New Year! I’m still in disbelief that 2015 is here already. This year promises many changes as I make plans to finish school and move. I know some people don’t like New Year’s Resolutions, but I appreciate getting the time to reflect on the previous year and set goals for the future. Without further ado, here are five of my resolutions for 2015.

  1. Blog once a week – This is one I tried and accomplished last year. Even though I missed a few weeks for holidays/vacation, I averaged at least one post a week, and I’d like to continue.
  2. Exercise three times a week – Another one of last year’s resolutions, I was less consistent with exercising like I should. Even though it makes me feel better, it can be difficult to find the time. I want to focus on being more active in general than wearing myself out with an intense work out.
  3. Make a scrapbook – I was recently inspired to start my own book using the Project Life supplies. I’m very excited to start. My goal is to record as much of my college experience as possible in time to share it with everyone at graduation.
  4. Get nine hours of sleep a night – I feel so much better when I get enough sleep at night. I know this isn’t always possible; however, I need to make an effort to go to bed at a decent hour and not abuse myself.
  5. Consolidate my belongings – I have a lot of stuff. I’ve come to realize that if I’m not using it, then it’s just taking up space. Part of the problem comes from storing things in two places. I want to have everything from school and my parents’ house in one place. In the process, I hope to pare it down substantially.

After a couple of years of resolutions, I’ve found a few things that work for me. I try to make specific and practical goals. “Exercise three times a week” is much easier to follow than “Be healthier.” Along with that comes keeping track of progress. I like using the Balanced app. Writing it down in a notebook or chart are also good methods of measurement. Finally, resolutions are not all or nothing. Looking back at 2014, I can’t say I kept any of my resolutions perfectly. Instead, I see it as a process. The more I do, the better I get.

Let me know your tips for resolutions, and have a great 2015!

Leave a Reply

