For Your Viewing Pleasure

Somehow I seem to watch more movies and shows back at school than over the holidays. Maybe it’s because I’m not around as many people or busy running from one gathering to the next. Whatever the reason, we all need a way to relax at the end of the day.

1066

My latest obsession is Broadchurch. I’ve be meaning to watch since I discovered David Tennant stars in it, but I never got around to it. When I saw the first season was available on Netflix, I decided to give it a chance. Boy am I glad I did. The plot surrounds two detectives investigating a suspicious death in the small tourist town of Broadchurch. I would highly recommend this for anyone who likes crime shows or mysteries.

MITM_Quad_Alt_NEW

I also recently watched Magic in the Moonlight. In all honesty, I would have watched it for the costumes alone. I had no clue what this movie was about before I rented it. It tells the story of a famous illusionist who travels to the countryside estate of a wealthy family in an attempt to disprove the claims of a young spiritual medium staying there. I found it corny and predictable; however, it would good if you’re looking for something lighthearted or just love the aesthetics like me.

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 2.19.27 PM

For something a little off the beaten path, my final recommendation is the YouTube channel East & West Vlog. The series of videos is an adaptation of one of my favorite novels/miniseries North & South. The vlog features Maggie, a college student struggling with her family’s move from England to Canada. If you love North & South or the new trend of YouTube adaptations, definitely give this one a watch. There are only five videos right now, but I hope the creators keep up the good work.

What have you been watching? I’d love to hear any of your recommendations.

Leave a Reply

